Ajaccio

Staying in the imperial city and historical capital of Corsica will seduce you throughout your walks, hikes, excursions, or gastronomic and festive stops. Ajaccio is the most visited city in Corsica for all the good reasons that follow.

Ajaccio is a harmonious mix of sea, mountains, nature, and history that leads us from Genoa to Napoleon Bonaparte. All the little corners of the city of Ajaccio bear witness to its charms in a sunny atmosphere where it is good to stroll in peace.

Its historic city centre, which saw the birth of Napoleon Bonaparte and Tino Rossi, gives it an exceptional wealth of heritage that is easy to access.

Let yourself be guided by these good reasons to discover the town.

The new market hall, on the Place Campinchi, is a must-see, with its local products and producers waiting for you full of colourful charm, and the tastings are often an opportunity to discover Corsican specialities.

With its many bars, restaurants and shopping streets, Ajaccio offers all its culinary and cultural diversity which gives it all its charm.

The Place Campinchiwith its tree-lined esplanades, its Napoleonic quays, its water mirror, and its footbridge are the beginning of your adventure.

The “Palais Fesch -Musée des beaux-arts” is located between the Borgu district of Ajaccio and the rue Fesch. It was created thanks to a gift to his city by Cardinal Fesch. It houses the most beautiful groups of French, Italian, Dutch and Corsican paintings, and the Napoleonic collection contains more than 700 works and objects.

The Imperial Chapel is the crypt of the Bonaparte family, built at the request of Napoleon III and classified as a historical monument.

The Bonaparte house, Napoleon’s birthplace where his family lived at the end of the 17th century, offers an overview of all the memories of the emperor and his family.,

The Miollis Citadel, founded in 1492 by the Genoese, is a real military fortification built to control the bay of Ajaccio. It marks the Genoese history of the town and its future. It is now open to the public.

vue-baie-ajaccio-montagnes
vue-baie-ajaccio-montagnes

The Place Campinchi with its tree-lined esplanades, its Napoleonic quays, its water mirror, and its footbridge are the beginning of your adventure.

The palais Fesch -Musée des beaux-arts is located between the Borgu district of Ajaccio and the rue Fesch. It was created thanks to a gift to his city by Cardinal Fesch. It houses the most beautiful groups of French, Italian, Dutch and Corsican paintings, and the Napoleonic collection contains more than 700 works and objects.

The imperial Chapelis the crypt of the Bonaparte family, built at the request of Napoleon III and classified as a historical monument.

The Bonaparte house, Napoleon’s birthplace where his family lived at the end of the 17th century, offers an overview of all the memories of the emperor and his family.

The Miollis Citadel , founded in 1492 by the Genoese, is a real military fortification built to control the bay of Ajaccio. It marks the Genoese history of the town and its future. It is now open to the public.

The Genoese quarter is the oldest of Ajaccio as well as the fishermen’s quarter of yesteryear. They celebrate Saint Erasmus, the patron saint of fishermen, in a procession every year.

The typical old streets take you from Place Foch, in front of the town hall, to the Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta to discover its monumental baroque style and all its chapels built to honour all its saints during the numerous religious festivals.

The foreigners’ quarter, just a few minutes’ walk away via the Cours Grandval, offers a unique architectural diversity, between the style of the Grand Hotel, now the seat of the Corsican Assembly, the baroque style of certain buildings and the small houses surrounded by greenery.

Place-foch-napoleon-ajaccio

A visit to the Place d’Austerlitz or Casone and the Napoleon grotto is not to be missed. This memorial site is dominated by the imposing statue of Napoleon I and its huge pyramid-shaped staircase.

The Genoese quarter is the oldest of Ajaccio as well as the fishermen’s quarter of yesteryear.  They celebrate Saint Erasmus, the patron saint of fishermen, in a procession every year.

The typical old streets take you from Place Foch, in front of the town hall, to the Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta to discover its monumental baroque style and all its chapels built to honour all its saints during the numerous religious festivals.

The foreigners’ quarter
, just a few minutes’ walk away via the Cours Grandval, offers a unique architectural diversity, between the style of the Grand Hotel, now the seat of the Corsican Assembly, the baroque style of certain buildings and the small houses surrounded by greenery.

A visit to the Place d’Austerlitz or Casone and the Napoleon grotto is not to be missed. This memorial site is dominated by the imposing statue of Napoleon I and its huge pyramid-shaped staircase.

plage-saint-françois-ajaccio

The Saint François beach, located at the foot of the citadel, offers a swim in a very protected cove in the heart of the city. Then, following the Henri Matisse promenade,the Trottel beach is a few minutes’ walk away.

Other coves or beaches (Barbicaja, La terre Sacrée, Morea…) invite you to dive into the turquoise waters, between the maquis and the Mediterranean perfumes, until you reach the Iles Sanguinaires.>

The Sanguinaires Islands at the Pointe de la Parata and its Genoese tower where you can observe the sanctuary and walk along the discovery paths to the Capo di Feno beach for the most courageous on a hike along the customs path.

plage-saint-françois-ajaccio

The Saint François beach, located at the foot of the citadel, offers a swim in a very protected cove in the heart of the city. Then, following the Henri Matisse promenade the Trottel beach is a few minutes’ walk away.

Other coves or beaches(Barbicaja, La terre Sacrée, Morea…)invite you to dive into the turquoise waters, between the maquis and the Mediterranean perfumes, until you reach the Iles Sanguinaires.

The Sanguinaires Islands at the Pointe de la Parata and its Genoese tower where you can observe the sanctuary and walk along the discovery paths to the Capo di Feno beach for the most courageous on a hike along the customs path.

Ajaccio

Séjourner dans la cité impériale et capitale historique de la Corse vous séduira tout au long de promenades, de randonnées, d’excursions ou de haltes gastronomiques et festives. Ajaccio est la ville la plus visitée de Corse pour toutes les bonnes suggestions qui vont suivre.

Ajaccio est un mélange harmonieux entre mer, montagne, nature et histoire qui nous mène de Gènes à Napoléon Bonaparte. Tous les petits recoins de la ville d’Ajaccio témoignent de ses charmes dans une atmosphère ensoleillée où il fait bon se balader en toute quiétude.

Son cœur de ville historique qui a vu naitre Napoléon Bonaparte et Tino Rossi lui confère une richesse patrimoniale exceptionnelle facile d’accès.

Laissez-vous guider par ses quelques bonnes raisons de découvrir la ville

La nouvelle Halle du marché, sur la Place Campinchi , est juste une étape incontournable .Ses produits du terroir , ses producteurs vous y attendent avec beaucoup de charmes haut en couleurs .Les dégustations sont souvent l’occasion de découvrir les spécialités corses .

Avec ses nombreux bars, restaurants et ses rues commerçantes, Ajaccio offre toute sa diversité culinaire et culturelle qui lui donne tout son charme.

La Place Campinchi avec ses esplanades arborées, ses quais napoléoniens, son miroir d’eau et sa passerelle est le début de votre aventure.

Le palais Fesch -Musée des beaux-arts est situé entre le quartier du Borgu d’Ajaccio et la rue Fesch. Il a été créé grâce à un don à sa ville par le Cardinal Fesch. Il abrite les plus beaux collectifs de peinture françaises, italiennes, hollandaises, corses … et la collection napoléonienne lui consacre plus de 700 œuvres et objets.

La Chapelle Impériale est la crypte de la famille Bonaparte, érigée à la demande de Napoléon III est classée Monument Historique construite en pierre de Saint Florent et jouxtant le musée.

La maison Bonaparte, Maison natale de Napoléon où sa famille vécut à la fin du XVIIème siècle dans une partie de l’édifice, offre une évocation de tous les souvenirs de l’Empereur et de sa famille.

La Citadelle Miollis , fondée en 1492 par les génois est un véritable ouvrage militaire construit pour permettre le contrôle de la baie d’Ajaccio. Elle marque l’histoire génoise de la ville et son devenir. Elle est désormais ouverte au public.

vue-baie-ajaccio-montagnes
vue-baie-ajaccio-montagnes

La Place Campinchi avec ses esplanades arborées, ses quais napoléoniens, son miroir d’eau et sa passerelle est le début de votre aventure.

Le palais Fesch -Musée des beaux-arts est situé entre le quartier du Borgu d’Ajaccio et la rue Fesch. Il a été créé grâce à un don à sa ville par le Cardinal Fesch. Il abrite les plus beaux collectifs de peinture françaises, italiennes, hollandaises, corses … et la collection napoléonienne lui consacre plus de 700 œuvres et objets.

La Chapelle Impériale est la crypte de la famille Bonaparte, érigée à la demande de Napoléon III est classée Monument Historique construite en pierre de Saint Florent et jouxtant le musée.

La maison Bonaparte, Maison natale de Napoléon où sa famille vécut à la fin du XVIIème siècle dans une partie de l’édifice, offre une évocation de tous les souvenirs de l’Empereur et de sa famille.

La Citadelle Miollis , fondée en 1492 par les génois est un véritable ouvrage militaire construit pour permettre le contrôle de la baie d’Ajaccio. Elle marque l’histoire génoise de la ville et son devenir. Elle est désormais ouverte au public.

Le quartier génois est le quartier le plus ancien d’Ajaccio et celui des pécheurs d’antan qui fête chaque année la Saint Erasme, saint patron des pécheurs, lors d’une procession.

Les vieilles ruelles typiques vous emmènent de la Place Foch, devant l’hôtel de ville, jusqu’à la Cathédrale Santa Maria Assunta pour y découvrir son style baroque monumental et toutes ses chapelles édifiées pour honorer tous ses Saints lors de nombreuses fêtes religieuses.

Le quartier des étrangers à quelques minutes à pied en passant par le Cours Grandval offre une diversité architecturale inédite, entre le style du Grand Hôtel devenu le siège de l’Assemblée de Corse, le style baroque de certains bâtiments et les petites maisons tout en verdure.

Place-foch-napoleon-ajaccio

La visite de la place d’Austerlitz ou Casone et la grotte napoléon ne se manque pas. Ce site mémoriel est dominé par l’imposant statue de napoléon 1er et son immense escalier en forme de pyramide.

Le quartier génois est le quartier le plus ancien d’Ajaccio et celui des pécheurs d’antan qui fête chaque année la Saint Erasme, saint patron des pécheurs, lors d’une procession.

Les vieilles ruelles typiques vous emmènent de la Place Foch, devant l’hôtel de ville, jusqu’à la Cathédrale Santa Maria Assunta pour y découvrir son style baroque monumental et toutes ses chapelles édifiées pour honorer tous ses Saints lors de nombreuses fêtes religieuses.

Le quartier des étrangers à quelques minutes à pied en passant par le Cours Grandval offre une diversité architecturale inédite, entre le style du Grand Hôtel devenu le siège de l’Assemblée de Corse, le style baroque de certains bâtiments et les petites maisons tout en verdure.

La visite de la place d’Austerlitz ou Casone et la grotte napoléon ne se manque pas. Ce site mémoriel est dominé par l’imposant statue de napoléon 1er et son immense escalier en forme de pyramide.

plage-saint-françois-ajaccio

La plage Saint François, située au pied de la citadelle, offre une baignade dans une anse très protégée en plein cœur de la ville. Puis en suivant la promenade Henri Matisse la plage du Trottel est à quelques minutes à pied.

D’autres criques ou plages (Barbicaja, La terre Sacrée, Morea..)invitent à plonger dans les eaux turquoise, entre maquis et parfums méditerranéens jusqu’aux Iles Sanguinaires./p>

Les iles Sanguinaires à la pointe de la Parata et sa tour Génoise pour observer le sanctuaire et s’y promener en empruntant les sentiers de découvertes jusqu’ à la plage de Capo di Feno pour les plus courageux en randonnée pédestre par le sentier des douaniers.

plage-saint-françois-ajaccio

La plage Saint François, située au pied de la citadelle, offre une baignade dans une anse très protégée en plein cœur de la ville. Puis en suivant la promenade Henri Matisse la plage du Trottel est à quelques minutes à pied.

D’autres criques ou plages (Barbicaja, La terre Sacrée, Morea..)invitent à plonger dans les eaux turquoise, entre maquis et parfums méditerranéens jusqu’aux Iles Sanguinaires./p>

Les iles Sanguinaires à la pointe de la Parata et sa tour Génoise pour observer le sanctuaire et s’y promener en empruntant les sentiers de découvertes jusqu’ à la plage de Capo di Feno pour les plus courageux en randonnée pédestre par le sentier des douaniers.